The Planning Commission consists of seven citizens of the Town appointed by the Town Council. Commission members are appointed to serve a four-year term, unless appointed to fill a vacancy for an unexpired term.


Planning Commission Panel Discussion on Housing Diversity

On Wednesday, September 5, the Herndon Planning Commission will moderate a panel discussion among Fairfax County officials and a non-profit organization representative specializing in housing issues on ways the town can preserve and protect the housing diversity represented throughout its neighborhoods, particularly in preparation for the arrival of Metrorail’s Silver Line in 2020.

The panel discussion begins at 7pm and will be held in the Herndon Council Chambers, 765 Lynn St, Herndon.  Panelists include Tom Fleetwood, director, Fairfax County Department of Housing and Community Development; Cynthia Bailey, deputy county attorney, Fairfax County; and Shelly Murphy, CEO, Wesley Housing.

According to Planning Commission Chair C. Melissa Jonas, the intent of the panel is to educate both commissioners and citizens about the benefits of housing diversity and how to navigate pressures related to significant marketplace impacts on housing, such as Metrorail’s arrival. Ultimately, said Jonas, “Our aim is to listen, learn, and then recommend to the Town Council appropriate goals and objectives toward maintaining the housing diversity that is a hallmark of neighborhoods in Herndon.”

Citizens are invited to attend and observe the discussion.

  • CD - Planning Commission

    • Commenting on Public Hearing Items

    • Planning Commission Members

    • Interested in serving on the Planning Commission?

    • Planning Commission Meeting Schedule

    • Planning Commission Responsibilities