Show/Hide

Trash & Recycling Collection Schedule

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Please visit our Trash and Recycling page for services impacted by COVID-19.

Bulky Items/ Special Collections

The Town of Herndon will begin limited scheduled bulk collections on July 6.  To schedule a pick up, check availability and complete an application. Appointments will be limited to 10 per day.  For collections between July 6 and Sept 4, the town is waiving the special collection fee.  For additional information please email publicworks@herndon-va.gov or call (703) 435-6856.

Find your trash and recycling collection days

DrinkFlushTossPoster1 (002) 

2020 Trash Collection Schedule

TRASH HOLIDAY - NO COLLECTION

TRASH COLLECTION DAY

New Year's Day 2020, Wednesday, January 1

Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2019

Independence Day, Observed Friday, July 3 (Trash will be collected - no change to schedule)

 Friday, July 3

Veterans Day, Wednesday, November 11

Tuesday, November 10

           

SCHEDULE SHIFTS BEGIN

Thanksgiving Week

Tues., Nov. 24 – Wednesday’s Trash Collected

Wed., Nov. 25 – Thursday’s Trash Collected

Thurs., Nov. 26 – No Collection

Fri., Nov. 27 – Normal Trash Collection

Christmas Week

Tues., Dec. 22 – Wednesday’s Trash Collected

Wed., Dec. 23 – Thursday’s Trash Collected

Thurs., Dec. 24 – Friday’s Trash Collection

Fri., Dec. 25 – No Collection

New Year’s Week

Tues., Dec. 29 – Wednesday’s Trash Collected

Wed., Dec. 30 – Thursday’s Trash Collected

Thurs., Dec. 31 – Friday’s Trash Collected

Fri., Jan. 1 – No Collection

  

2020 Recycling Collection Schedule

RECYCLING HOLIDAY - NO COLLECTION

RECYCLING COLLECTION DAY (Mon. & Tues’s. Recycling Collected)

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, January 20

Tuesday, January 21

President's Day , Monday, February 17

Tuesday, February 18

Memorial Day, Monday, May 25

Tuesday, May 26

Labor Day, Monday, September 7

Tuesday, September 8

Columbus Day, Monday, October 12

Tuesday, October 13

           

SCHEDULE SHIFTS BEGIN

Thanksgiving Week

Monday, November 23 (Mon. & Tues.'s recycling collected)

Christmas Week

Monday, December 21 (Mon. & Tue.'s recycling collected)

New Year’s Week

Monday, December 28 (Mon. & Tues.'s recycling collected)

   
Reminders:  Items must be at curb no later than 6am for collection.                                                                                                   Please do not place trash or recycling curbside more than 24 hours prior to scheduled collection.

Christmas Tree Collection January 8 - 10 (on your trash day only)  Please remove all decorations and place as close to the curb as possible.

Household Hazardous Waste  1-66 Transfer Station Complex, 4618 West Ox Road, Fairfax

Yard Waste and Brush Collection Schedule